My Account | How to Invest  
This page is hosted on the fund section of Merk Funds
Home > The Merk Perspective > Glossary > G-20

What is G-20?

G-20 (Group of Twenty Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors): The G-20 was set up to respond to the financial turmoil of 1997-97 to develop policies promoting international financial stability.

The members of the G-20 are the finance ministers and central bank  governors of 19 countries: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America. The European Union is also a member, represented by the rotating Council presidency and the European Central Bank. The Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the President of the World Bank, plus the chairs of the International Monetary and Financial Committee and Development Committee of the IMF and World Bank, also participate in G-20 meetings on an ex-officio basis.